Follow my blog with Bloglovin
 
Back on Tumblr, I featured (or attempted to feature) charities that I stand behind and support. I believe it is high time to bring the feature over here. This month, my charity is the Ubuntu Education Fund
Founded in 1999, Ubuntu Education Fund is a nonprofit charitable organization that "provides world-class health and educational support to the orphaned and vulnerable children of Port Elizabeth, South Africa, ensuring that they can access higher education and employment."

So what does that entail? Well the founder of Ubuntu, Jacob Lief, said on the BBC, that they are effectively providing everything for these kids, from cradle to career. That mean's pediatricians, psychologists, macbook pros and good teachers to learn from. Ubuntu isn't just a normal charity, it is taking money and using it how parents in the U.S. would, by giving their kids the best education and support they can.
Here is a video to give you a better idea of what Ubuntu is.
What spoke to me most about Ubuntu was the marketing campaign below, "Should your birthplace determine your future?" This spoke volumes to me because there are times, when I realize just how amazing my life is simply being born where I was born, forget who my parents are, what school I went to, any of it because I was born in the U.S. That is such an amazing gift that will set me up for success in life (plus how amazing my parents were and where I went to school). It made me think, why should something we don't have control over dictate our lives fully? It shouldn't and Ubuntu is doing the best it can to ensure it doesn't.
I feel such a great connection to this charity, and I will be doing my best to get involved with them anyway possible, and if it speaks to you as it does me, I encourage you to help out as well.

Check out Ubuntu at http://www.ubuntufund.org/
Follow them on twitter at UbuntuFund
Here is their Facebook and Instagram

If you have any suggestions for charities to feature, please leave them in the comments below!



Leave a Reply.